Board of Directors

Doug Blakeway

Mr. Blakeway founded and leads Nanotech Security Corp. He is an entrepreneur and inventor who, over several decades, has founded and operated a number of successful companies both locally and in international markets. These companies have ranged from being service-oriented firms to high tech electronic and wireless manufacturing organizations. Mr. Blakeway is quite active in the Canadian business community and at Simon Fraser University. He is currently also a director of Tactical Technologies Inc., Canadian Listed Company Association, Wireless Industry Partnership Connector Inc., a member of Simon Fraser University (SFU) Surrey – Business Advisory Council, Entrepreneur-in-Residence at SFU Venture Connection, CMC Microsystems Inc., and a member of The Executive Committee (TEC).

Bozena Kaminska

Member of Audit Committee

Dr. Kaminska’s academic career spans four decades and four nations, including a professor post at the University of Montréal and Senior Canada Research Chair in wireless sensor networks and Professor at Simon Fraser University, Vancouver. She is Chair of the Board of Directors for CMC Microsystems Inc. Previously, Dr. Kaminska served as Senior Vice President and Chief Technical Officer with Credence Corp in Portland, Oregon. Dr. Kaminska is a prolific inventor with major contributions to science and spin-off companies out of her research.

Bernhard Zinkhofer

Mr. Zinkhofer is a practicing corporate lawyer and partner in the Vancouver office of McMillan LLP, Barristers & Solicitors. He practises in the areas of corporate securities and related commercial matters including natural resource and technology transfer. Mr. Zinkhofer obtained a Bachelor of Commerce from the University of Calgary in 1977, became a Member of the Canadian Institute of Chartered Accountants in 1980 after articling with a predecessor of KPMG Peat Marwick Thorne and obtained a LLB from the University of Victoria in 1983. He has served as a director of Nanotech and its predecessors for most of the preceding 12 years.

Kenneth Tolmie

Chairman of Audit Committee, Chairman of Compensation Committee

Mr. Tolmie is the Chief Financial Officer, principal shareholder and a director of APRIO Inc., a privately held governance information software company. He is presently a director and officer of a number of private companies and has previously served in senior executive and financial positions with Hastings West Investment Ltd., The Beacon Group of Companies, Premier Diagnostic Health Services Inc., a CNSX listed British Columbia Company and other junior companies in technology, film and other industries.

Brian Causey

Member of Audit Committee

Mr. Causey joined Nanotech Security in October 2009 as Director, Chief Financial Officer and Secretary. He is a Chartered Accountant with more than 40 years of experience and a former Partner in KPMG, LLP with expertise in financing, corporate reorganization and specialized tax planning initiatives. He is currently a Chief Financial Officer of the CFO Centre.

Dickson Hall

Member of Compensation Committee

Mr. Hall directs business development efforts in Asia for Hunter Dickinson, Inc., a Canadian-based resource group, is chairman of the board of directors of ACT360 Solutions, a British Columbia-based provider of online customer acquisition software and services, is a director of MEC Advisory Ltd., and is sole manager of Can-China Global Resources Fund, a $1 billion fund backed by the Export-Import Bank of China.

Ron Barbaro

Member of Compensation Committee

Mr. Barbaro is a corporate director and advisor.  He is Chairman of the Board of Smart Employee Benefits Inc. since 2013 and a director of Bardya Brokerage Services Inc. since January 2016.  Over the years Mr. Barbaro has held many director positions including Chairman and CEO of the Ontario Lottery and Gaming Corporation (1998-2003), Chairman of The Brick Group (2004-2012), President, The Prudential Insurance Company of America (worldwide operations) (1990-1993), and Special Advisor and Chairman of the Premier of Ontario’s Economic Recovery Team (2003-2005).